Home Inspector Legislation by State
Alabama Licensure (Act 2002-517 enacted in 2002)
Requires individuals performing home inspections to become licensed by
the Alabama Building Commission. The Alabama Standards of Practice and
Code of Ethics (see Home
Inspectors Rules and Applications) is adopted from the ASHI Standards
of Practice and Code of Ethics. The Alabama Building Commission gratefully
acknowledges ASHI's consent. The Building Commission adopted the National
Home Inspection Examination to assess minimum competence. The bill also
outlines educational and experiential requirements to become licensed,
sets license fees and insurance requirements, and defines penalties under
which licensure may be suspended or revoked. This law replaces Act 96-574.
For more information or a copy of the statute contact the Alabama
Building Commission, (334) 242-4082, (334) 242-4182 fax, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Alaska Licensure (Chapter
134 SLA enacted in 2003).
In Alaska, home inspectors and associate home inspectors will be issued
a certificate of registration by the Department of Community and Economic
Development. To be a registered home inspector, an individual must: 1)
pass the National Home Inspector Examination, 2) meet the educational and
experience requirements as determined by the Department, 3) submit a
complete application for registration within one year of passing the exam,
4) not have been convicted of specific crimes in the past seven years of
the date of the application, 5) not have had the authority to perform home
inspections revoked in the state or another jurisdiction, 6) not be the
subject of an unresolved criminal complaint or unresolved disciplinary
action in the state and 7) pay the appropriate fees. For the renewal of
certificates, the Department will require at least eight hours of
continuing competency activity in each licensing period. The Department
will set the registration fees for home inspectors and associate home
inspectors and determine the disciplinary actions and penalties for
violating the terms of the certificate of registration. The law also sets
home inspection requirements for residential loans purchased or approved
by the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation. The law requires that a written
report fulfilling certain requirements be submitted to the person
requesting the inspection upon completion of an inspection that will
remain valid for 180 days after the inspection and allows for civil action
to be taken against home inspectors for one year after performing the
inspection. The law requires the home inspector to carry insurance and a
bond of $5,000. The law went into effect in 2003 and all home inspectors
are required to have a license by July 1, 2004.
For more information contact the home inspector licensing examiner at
the The Department
of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development at (907) 465-5470
phone, (907) 465-2974 fax or e-mail
Arizona Certification (Title 32, Chapter 1 enacted in 2002).
The Arizona State Board of Technical Registration (BTR) certifies and
regulates the practice of home inspectors. The law requires 80 hours of
education, successful completion of the National Home Inspector
Examination, and evidence of successfully completed home inspections. In
addition, the law requires that certified home inspectors have one of the
following financial assurances: 1) Errors and Omissions Insurance in the
amount of $200,000 in the aggregate and $100,000 per occurrence, 2) a
$25,000 bond or proof of assets in that amount, or 3) an alternate
financial assurance mechanism approved by the BTR with a value of at least
$25,000. The law states that loss of or failure to obtain financial
assurance is grounds for revocation of certification.
For more specific information regarding certification requirements,
please go to the BTR website
and, under Regulations on the Table of Contents panel, click on
"Applicable Statutes" (see A.R.S.§ 32-122.02 or
"Applicable Rules" (see A.A.C. R4-30-247).
For further information, contact Manual
Maltos, Home Inspector Certification Program administrator.
Arkansas Registration (Act
1328 of 2003) repealed and replaced (Act 791 of
Unde r the "Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Act," all
home inspectors in the state must register with the Sec retary of State.
Applicants must pass the National Home Inspector Examination. In addition,
home inspectors must conduct all inspections in adherence to the Standards
of Practice and Code of Ethics of ASHI, the Arkansas Association of Real
Estate Inspectors, or an equivalent professional home inspection
association. The law also prohibits inspectors from performing repairs on
a structure that he has inspected within the last 12 months. In order to
register under the law, an applicant must procure general liability
insurance of at least $100,000. These requirements, along with the duties
and responsibilities of the Board, complaint and disciplinary procedures,
continuing education requirements and more can be found In the Rules
and Procedures of the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board.
For more information, contact the Arkansas
Home Inspector Registration Board.
California Trade practice act (Chapter
338) enacted in 1996.
The law in California prohibits unethical home inspection practices,
including repairing properties that home inspectors have inspected in the
previous 12 months. The law encourages courts to consider the Standards of
Practice and Code of Ethics of ASHI and the California Real Estate
Inspection Association when determining whether an inspection meets the
required standard of care.
For more information, contact the California
Contractors State License Board at 1-800-321-2752, (916) 366-9130 fax.
Connecticut Licensure (Public
Act No. 99-254 enacted in 2000).
Connecticut law requires home inspectors to be licensed under the
"Home Inspection Licensing Board." In order to be eligible for a
home inspector license, an applicant shall: 1) have successfully completed
high school or its equivalent; 2) have either been engaged as a home
inspector intern for not less than one year and not performed less than
200 home inspections for compensation or taken and successfully
completed a board-approved training program, earned a home inspector
intern permit, and performed not less than 100 home inspections under the
direct supervision and in the presence of a licensed home inspector; 3)
have passed an oral, written, or electronic competency examination; and 4)
have paid a $200 fee. In order to receive a permit as a home inspector
intern, an applicant shall: 1) have successfully completed high school or
its equivalent; 2) have enrolled in and completed a board-approved
training program; 3) have an identified supervisor who is licensed as a
home inspector, is in good standing, and has agreed to perform the
supervisory functions required; and 4) have paid a $100 fee.
For more information, including Regulations, applications, etc. contact
of Consumer Protection, Licenses Service Division at
Georgia Trade practice act (Chapter
3, Title 8) enacted in 1994.
Georgia law requires home inspectors to provide written documents
containing certain information with regard to inspections. This written
document must include the scope of the inspection, including the
structural elements and systems to be inspected, that the inspection is a
visual inspection, and that the home inspector will notify, in writing,
the person on whose behalf such inspection is being made of any defects
noted during the inspection.
For more information, contact the Secretary
of State, Construction Industry License Board.
(478) 207-1300 phone
(478) 207-1363 fax
Illinois Licensure ( 225
ILSC 441 enacted in 2001).
Illinois law creates the Illinois Home Inspector License Act and
establishes a Home Inspector Advisory Board within the Office of Banks and
Real Estate (OBRE), which is charged with regulating home inspectors. To
obtain a license, an applicant must: 1) be at least 21 years of age, 2)
obtain a high school diploma or GED, 3) as a prerequisite for sitting for
the examination, successfully complete 60 hours of pre-license education
from an education provider approved and licensed by OBRE, and 4) take and
successfully pass the Home Inspector Examination for Illinois, which
consists of the National Home Inspector Examination and a section
concerning Illinois statutes and regulations. Licensed home Inspectors are
required to perform Inspections that meet the minimum standards of
practice established by rule as adopted by the OBRE. The law also exempts
certain professionals from licensure as a home inspector while acting
under the scope of their licenses. The law became effective January 1,
For more information, including statute, Rules, applications, contact
the Office of Banks
and Real Estate at (217) 782-3000 phone and (217) 558-4297 fax.
Indiana Licensure (P.L. 145 enacted In 2004).
P.L. 145 established the Home Inspectors Licensing Board to regulate
home inspectors and associate home inspectors. The Board shall be
responsible for setting the fees for licenses, investigating complaints
concerning licensees and establishing continuing education requirements.
The Board shall adopt a code of ethics, standards for competent
performance of home inspections and standards for inspection reports.
Under P.L. 145, licensing requires that a candidate: 1) be at least 18
years of age, 2) graduated from high school or earned a GED diploma, 3)
not have been convicted of specific crimes, 4) complete a Board approved
training program or course and pass an exam approved by the Board, 5)
carry general liability insurance coverage of at least $100,000 and 6) pay
a fee. The law also provides that a person who performs home inspections
for compensation without a license commits a Class B Infraction. It also
provides that any civil complaints based upon the professional services of
a licensed home inspector must be filed within two years of the date the
alleged Infraction occurred. This law takes effect July 1, 2004.
For more information contact the Indiana
Professional Licensing Agency at (317) 234-3009 phone or (317)
232-2312 fax, or Email: email@example.com.
To download the law go here
Kentucky Licensure (
KRS 198B.700) enacted in 2004.
The Kentucky Home Inspector Licensing Law requires home inspectors to
be licensed and defines the requirements of licensure. An inspector must
be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED equivalent,
complete a board-approved training program, pass an examination approved
by the board, and submit a certificate of insurance. Inspections must be
conducted in accordance with the standards of practice of ASHI or NAHI or
their equal. The law created the Kentucky Board of Home Inspectors, to
which the Governor appointed eight members, including one member each from
ASHI, NAHI, and the Kentucky Real Estate Inspection Association. The law
also establishes license renewal criteria, including continuing education
of 30 hours for two years. Licensed inspectors must carry liability
insurance in the amount of $250.000.
For more information contact the Kentucky
Office of Housing, Buildings and Construction, Terry Slade, (502)
573-0373, extension 201, (502) 573-1057 fax, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
OR Kentucky Board of
Home Inspectors Dawna King, (502) 573-0373, extension 202, (502)
573-1057 fax, e-mail email@example.com
Louisiana Licensure (Chapter
17-A of Title37) enacted in 1999.
Louisiana law creates the "Louisiana Home Inspectors Licensing
Act." It creates the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors within
the Department of Economic Development and requires the Board to establish
minimum qualifications for licensing and allows the Board to charge and
collect fees. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and must have
successfully completed high school or its equivalent, and passed the
National Home Inspector Examination. Applicants must show evidence of
successful completion of at least 120 hours of instruction, at least 30
hours but no more than 40 of which must be in course work containing
actual practical home inspections. Home inspectors are required to provide
a written report of the home inspection, and are prohibited from, at the
time of inspection and for a reasonable time thereafter, advertising or
soliciting to perform repair services on the home upon which the
inspection was performed. As a condition of renewal of a license, a home
inspector must show evidence of completion of 20 hours of continuing
education. Active licensees are required to carry errors and omission
insurance, and the Board must establish a group insurance program.
For more information, including General
Standards of Practice, applications and more, contact the Louisiana
State Board of Home Inspectors at 225-248-1334 phone or 225-248-1335
Maryland Trade practice act enacted in 1992.
Maryland law requires home inspectors to disclose professional
qualifications and the scope of the inspection within the home inspection
contract. The law also requires home inspectors to conduct home
inspections in accordance with the standards of practice set forth by a
professional home inspection trade association such as ASHI or the
National Association of Home Inspectors.
Licensure ( Chapter
470) enacted in 2001.
[Note: the following describes the law passed in 2001. However,
this passage from the Maryland Web site makes clear that the law is not
currently in effect for budgetary reason
"The law for the licensing and regulation of Home Inspectors has
been deferred until an appropriation to fund the program is allocated.
Therefore, there will be no activity relative to the licensing, training
or regulation of home inspectors. At this time, there is no date available
as to when the licensing program will begin. Updates to the program will
be posted on this site as they occur."]
Maryland law creates the State Commission of Real Estate Appraisers and
Home Inspectors to regulate home inspectors in the state. Th e Commission
is charged with establishing a code of ethics and standards of practice
for licensed home inspectors, and providing a copy of such standards to
each licensed home inspector. To qualify for licensure prior to July 1,
2002, an applicant must complete two of the following conditions: 1)
complete a minimum of 48 hours of an on-site training course approved by a
national home inspection organization of the Commission, 2) complete a
minimum of 2 years of relevant work experience as determined by the
Commission, 3) complete at least 100 home inspections for compensation, or
4) submit proof of full membership in or certification by ASHI or NAHI.
Effective July 1, 2002, an applicant for a home inspector license shall:
1) have completed a minimum of 48 hours of an off-site training course, 2)
have a high school diploma or its equivalent, 3) have general liability
insurance in an amount not less than $50,000, 4) submit an application
sanctioned by the Commission, 5) pay the application fee of $50 to the
Commission. The law also exempts certain professionals from licensure as a
home inspector while acting under the scope of their licenses, and pro
vides a reciprocity provision for licensed home inspectors from other
For more information, contact the
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing at (410)
230-6165 phone or (410) 333-6314 fax.
Massachusetts Licensure (Chapter 146) enacted in 1999.
Massachusetts law requires home inspectors and associate home
inspectors to be licensed under the Board of Registration of Home
Inspectors. The Board is required to: 1) establish the requirements for
licensure and for the standards of professional and ethical conduct; 2)
establish standards for continuing education; 3) authorize and conduct
examinations; 4) grant licenses to qualified applicants; and 5) establish
penalties. The law also requires that the Director of the Office of
Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation publish an informational brochure
on home inspections which must be issued to home buyers at the signing of
an offer to purchase. Licensed home inspectors must: 1) have successfully
completed high school or its equivalent; 2) have been engaged as a
licensed associate home inspector for not less than one year and have
performed not less than 100 home inspections under the supervision of a
licensed ho me inspector; 3) have passed the National Home Inspector
Examination; and 4) paid the appropriate fee. A licensed associate home
inspector must: 1) have successfully completed high school or its
equivalent; 2) have performed not less than 25 home inspections in the
presence of a licensed home inspector; 3) have passed the National Home
Inspector Examination; 4) have an identified supervisor who is a person
licensed in good standing as a home inspector; and 5) paid the appropriate
fee. Licensed home inspectors and associate home inspectors must carry
errors and omissions insurance in an amount not less than $250,000. Also,
a home inspector or associate home inspector may not attempt to limit
liability for negligent or wrongful errors or omissions by use of a clause
within a performance contract that limits the cost of damages from
negligent or wrongful errors or omissions.
Amendment to Current Law(
Ch. 146 of 1999) enacted in 2001.
The amended section of the law (Chapter 17 of 2001) extends the time
period during which the Board may issue a temporary license to an
applicant seeking licensure as a home inspector. The law moves the
effective date back to November 1, 2001 from May 1, 2001 and establishes
the cri teria under which a temporary license may be issued. A temporary
license may be issued if: 1) an individual has been engaged in home
inspection for not less than three years prior to the effective date and
has performed at least 100 inspections for compensation, or 2) an
individual has been engaged in the practice of home inspection for not
less than one year prior to the effective date, and has performed at least
125 inspections for compensation. Temporary licenses shall terminate in 90
days, or whenever the applicant furnishes proof of having passed a
licensing examination approved by the Board, whichever occurs first.
For more information, including Rules
and Regulations, contact the
Board of Registration of Home Inspectors at (617) 727-4459 phone or
(617) 727-2197 fax.
Mississippi Licensure (Chapter
71) enacted in 2001.
Mississippi law requires home inspectors to be licensed by the
Mississippi Real Estate Commission (Commission) and is given the following
powers: 1) receiving and approving applications for licensure and
collecting fees, 2) implementing recommendations made by the Home
Inspector Advisory Board, 3) adoption of a code
of ethics and standards of practice 4) developing a licensing exam
(the Commission adopted the National
Home Inspector Examination to assess minimum competence) which meets
nationally recognized standards, as well as developing applications and
licensing forms, 6) adopting rules and regulations for administering the
law. The. The law also created a five person Home Inspector Regulatory
Board (Board), members of which are to be licensed inspectors, and
appointed by the Governor. The Board serves in an advisory capacity to the
C ommission, and was given the following duties and powers: 1)
responsibility for matters relating to the code of ethics, standards and
qualifications, 2) hol ding hearings and preparing examination
specifications for licensure, 3) conducting investigations, 4) further
defining regulation, educational and equivalent experience, and 5)
recommending suspension or revocation of licenses. To qualify for a
license under this act, a person must: 1) have successfully completed high
school or attained an equivalency degree, 2) be at least 21 years old, 3)
have successfully completed an approved course of study of at least 60
hours, which may include field work as required by the Commission, 4) pass
the National Home Inspector Examination, and 5) provide a certificate of
insurance for errors and omissions and general liability. Certain
individuals acting under their profession or license are exempted from
additional licensure by the Commission for "visual
inspections"--specialty and general contractors, architects,
engineers, financial institution employee, licensed real estate broker,
appraiser or home builder. There is also a three-year limitation included
for clients seeking to recover damages from an inspection, a reciprocity
provision, and a grandfather clause incl uded in the act.
For more information, including forms, education providers and more,
contact the Real
Estate Commission (Home Inspector Regulatory Board) at (601) 932-9191.
Montana Trade Practice Act ( Chapter
14, Title 30) enacted in 1999.
Montana law, the Home Inspection Trade Practices Act, prescribes what
elements must be identified in a home inspection and defines prohibited
activities by a home inspector.
For more information, contact the Office
of Building Codes and Inspection at (406) 841-2040 phone or (406)
Nevada Certification (NRS
645D.120 and NAC
645D.210) enacted in 1997.
Nevada law provides for the certification of home inspectors of
structures by the Rea l Estate Division of the Department of Business and
Industry. An applicant for certification as a certified residential
Inspector : (a) must furnish proof to the Division that he has
successfully completed 1) not less than 40 hours of academic Instruction
In subjects related to structural Inspections In courses approved by the
Division or equivalent experience as an Inspector, and 2) an examination
approved by the Division, and (b) must possess a high school diploma or
Its equivalent. Experience as an Inspector must demonstrate ability of the
applicant to produce a credible Inspection report according to the
standards and requirements set In the statute and codes. Applicants must
submit to the Division a log of Inspections performed for a fee on a form
supplied by the Division. Applicants must submit proof that they have
errors and omissions insurance of at least $100,000 and general liability
insurance of at least $100,000. The law also provides that a purchaser may
not recover damages from a seller on the basis of an error or omission in
the disclosure form that was caused by the seller's reliance upon informat
ion provided to the seller by a certified inspector of real estate.
For more information, contact the Department
of Business and Industry, Real Estate Division
(775) 687-4280 phone
(775) 687-4868 fax
New Jersey Licensure (Chapter
8, Title 45) enacted in 1998.
New Jersey's "Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act,"
sets specific educational and experience requirements in order to become a
licensed home inspector. All home inspectors are required to: 1) complete
high school or its equivalent; 2) serve as a licensed associate inspector
for at least one year; 3) perform at least 250 inspections; 4) carry
$500,000 in insurance; and 5) pass the National Home Inspector
Examination. Inspectors do not have to be a member or candidate of ASHI in
order to take the exam. In order to become a licensed associate home
inspector under the law, an inspector must: 1) perform at least 50
inspections in the presence of a licensed inspector; and 2) pass the
National Home Inspector Examination. Also, the law provides that, if home
inspectors fail to disclose problems or acc ept payment from another party
in the transaction, they can lose their license. Home inspectors are
regulated by a five-member Home Inspection Advisory Committee, housed
under the State Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors.
In 2003, Public
Law 2003, Chapter 77 was passed, amending the grandfathering
requirements and extending the grandfathering window by one year, until
June 30, 2004. Home Inspectors now have until December 31, 2005 to obtain
In 2005, Public
Law 2005, Chapter 201 was passed. The law states that to be eligible
for home inspector licensure an applicant has two options: (1)
successfully complete an approved course of study not less than 180 hours,
as prescribed by the State Board of Professional Engineers and Land
Surveyors, after consultation with the State Department of Education,
which shall include not less than 40 hours of unpaid field-based
inspections in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a
licensed home inspector; or (2) perform not less than 250 fee-paid home
inspections in the presence of and under the direct supervision of a
licensed home inspector. The licensed home inspector who oversees these
ins pections must take full responsibility for the inspection and any
report produced. In addition, the law stipulates that as a condition for
home inspector biennial license renewal, an individual shall complete 40
credit hours of continuing education.
The law also changes current law, which states home inspector
applicants must pass the examinations offered by ASHI. The law instead
will require applicants to pass an examination administered or approved by
the Home Inspection Advisory Committee, which would not necessarily be
The law eliminates the classification of "Associate Home
Inspector." During the first 180 days after the bill's enactment, the
Home Inspection Advisory Committee shall, upon application, issue a home
inspector license to any person whose application for an Associate Home
Inspector license had been approved by the committee prior to December 30,
2005 or who satisfied certain requirements and had completed 40 hours of
unpaid field-based inspections under the direct supervision of a licensed
home inspector prior to December 30, 2005.
For more information, contact the NJ
Home Inspection Advisory Committee at (973) 504-6460.
New York Licensure (Chapter 461 of the Laws of 2004)
The "Home Inspector Professional
Licensing Act"takes effect December 31, 2005 and requires that
all home inspectors obtain a license. Home inspectors will be licensed for
two years and must pay an initial fee of $250.00 and renewal fees of
$100.00 thereafter. The basic provisions of the law include requirements
for obtaining a license, including classroom education and on site
inspection training, confirmation of an appropriate knowledge base via
testing, the development of a required standard of practice and code of
ethics, continuing education requirements for license renewal, and a duty
of care of all license holders to the client. There are two routes to
obtaining a license. An applicant must complete 140 hours of approved
training, including 40 hours of unpaid inspection experience under the
direct supervision of a licensed inspector, or have 100 hours of paid or
unpaid inspection experience under the direct supervision of a licensed
inspector. The applicant must also pass an approved written exam.
Additionally, there are grandfathering provisions in the law that
recognize the value of prior experience. To receive a license under this
provision, an inspector must have inspected at least 100 homes within the
last two years and pass an approved exam, or have inspected at least 250
homes for compensation and have been a practicing inspector for at least
three years, prior to the enforcement of this law.
There is an advisory Council consisting of 4 inspectors and 2 public
members, that must meet to advise the Secretary regarding the appropriate
rules and regulations, education requirements, examination, standards of
practice and code of ethics. The Council will suggest the number of hours
needed to meet continuing education requirements.
The law requires that a licensed home inspector maintain appropriate
general liability insurance.
Finally, Under the Duty of Care provisions, every home inspector must
provide a written report to the client, indicating what components and
systems were observed, and must maintain the client's wishes for
confidentiality. The inspector may not do repairs on a home he/she has
inspected for real estate sales purposes, inspect homes in which the
inspector may have a financial interest, pay referral fees to agents or
sellers, or inspect homes when payment is contingent upon closing, or
pre-established or prescribed findings.
For more information contact Keith W. Stack, Deputy Secretary of State
for Business and Licensing Services, New
York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services, (518)
474-4429, (518) 473-6648 fax, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
North Carolina Licensure ( Chapter
143, Article 9F) enacted in 1993.
The North Carolina "Home Inspection Licensure Act" provides
for the licensing and regulation of home inspectors through the creation
of a Home Inspector Licensure Board within the Department of Insurance. In
order to become licensed as a home inspector, an individual must pass the
licensing examination prescribed by the Board, have minimum net assets or
a bond in an amount determined by the Board (not less than $5,000 nor more
than $10,000) and meet certain educational conditions, including: 1) have
a high school diploma or its equivalent, have been engaged as a licensed
associate home inspector for at least one year, and have completed 100
home inspections for comp ensation; 2) have education and experience the
Board considers to be equivalent to that in subpart 1. above; or 3) be
licensed as a general contractor, architect, or professional engineer. In
order to become licensed as an associate home inspector, an individual
must pass a licensing examination prescribed by the Board, have a high
school diploma or its equivalent, and be affiliated with or intend to be
affiliated with a licensed home inspector and submit a sworn statement by
the licensed home inspector with whom the applicant is or intends to be
affiliated certifying that the licensed home inspector will actively
supervise and train the applicant.
For more information, contact the Inspector
License Board at (919) 662-4480, (919) 662-4414 fax.
Scroll down to Home Inspector Licensure Board
Statutes and the Administrative
Code are meant to be used together.
North Dakota Registration (HB
1507 enacted in 2005)
It states the requirements for home inspector registration and license
renewal procedures. Applicants must be at least 18 years old, have
submitted proof of errors and omissions insurance coverage in the amount
of $100,000, and have paid a $200 fee. The law exempts applicants that
perform home inspections for residential buildings located outside the
corporate limits of any city or located in a city with a population under
three thousand from being required to carry errors and omissions insurance
in the amount of $100,000. The bill provides a penalty for home inspectors
that fail to register, making any individual that provides a home
inspection without registration guilty of a class B misdemeanor. Also
states that an applicant shall submit proof of completion of an
examination offered by the American Society of Home Inspectors, the
National Association of Certified Home Inspectors, the Examination Board
of Professional Home Inspectors, the National Association of Home
Inspectors, or the International Code Council. For more information,
forms, go to the Home Inspector page at the North
Dakota Secretary of State Web site or call 701-328-2900 or e-mail email@example.com.
Oklahoma Licensure (Section
858-622 of Title 59) enacted in 2001.
The "Oklahoma Home Inspection Licensing Act" provides for the
licensing of home inspectors through the State Board of Health, and a
newly created Committee of Home Inspector Examiners (Committee). The
Committee is charged with advising the Board of Health in establishing
rules relating to: 1) qualifications and examinations for licensure (the
committee has adopted the National
Home Inspector Examination as the test for minimum competence), 2)
renewal requirements, 3) reinstatement of licenses, 4) continuing
education, 5) standards of practice and prohibitions, 6) approval of
schools and educational course content for home inspection, 7) standards
for schools to remain approved to provide courses of instruction, 8)
reciprocity agreements, and 9) investigative procedures. These Rules have
been established in Title
310, Chapter 276. In order to take an examination for licensure, an
applicant must be at least 18 years of age, and successfully complete 50
hours of home inspection training, or its equivalent, as determined by the
Committee. Renewal of licenses will be granted provided home inspectors
attend five hours of continuing education within the preceding 12 months.
Under the law, licensed home inspectors will be required to carry no less
than $50,000 of general liability insurance.
For more information, contact the Department
of Health, Occupational Licensing at 1000 N.E. Tenth, Oklahoma City,
Phone: (405)271-5243 FAX: (405)271-3458
Oregon Certification (ORS
701.350, 355) enacted in 1997.
The Oregon Home Inspection Certification Law requires individuals who
perform home inspections of two or more components to be certified by the
Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). An individual must meet
minimum training and/or experience requirements to take a comprehensive test,
pass the test and complete continuing
education courses to renew certific ation. The Oregon Standards
of Practice, Standards of Behavior and Definitions are adopted from
the ASHI Standards with Oregon
amendments; Oregon acknowledges the assistance of ASHI in developing
its standards and definitions. Each certified home inspector must be an
owner or employee of a business licensed with the CCB. Businesses that
perform home inspections must be licensed with the CCB in categories that
require either a $10,000 or $15,000 bond and either a $300,000 or $500,000
liability insurance policy. Amendment to current law (ORS
710.35, Chapter 812). The amendment to current law provides an exemption
for a home inspector acting within the scope of his/her certification or
licensure, from licensure as a real estate appraiser.
For more information, contact the Construction
Contractors Board at (503) 378-4621 phone or (503) 373-2007 fax.
Pennsylvania Trade Practice Act ( Act
114 of 2000, Title 68 enacted in 2000).
The law in Pennsylvania provides a uniform definition for the term
"home inspection" and for a national home inspection
association. It establishes that a home inspector shall conduct their
inspection in accordance with the standards of practice set forth by a
professional home inspection trade association such as ASHI or the
National Association of Home Inspectors. It further outlines consumer
remedies as they relate to a home inspection, and establishes penalties
for misrepresentations of fact in an inspection report. Under the law,
home inspectors are required to maintain errors and omissions and general
liability insurance with coverage of not less than $100,000 per occurrence
and $500,000 in the aggregate. The law is scheduled to take effect in
For more information, contact the Pennsylvania
Home Inspectors Coalition.
Contact the Pennsylvania
Bureau of Consumer Protection at (717) 787-9707.
Rhode Island Trade practice act enacted in 1996.
The law in Rhode Island forbids home inspectors, pest control
inspectors, and contractors from doing work on property that is inspected
prior to real estate sales. The law was passed to help eliminate
activities that could present a conflict of interest.
65.1) enacted in 2000. Rhode Island law creates a home inspector
licensing law and requires that all home inspectors be licensed. Home
inspectors would be required to maintain $250,000 of liability insurance,
pass the National Home Inspector Examination, and abide by standards
of practice and a code
of ethics. NOTE: This law is currently not funded.
For more information, contact the RI
Contractors' Registration Board at (401) 222-1268 phone or (401)
South Carolina Licensure (Title
40, Chapter 59, Article 3) enacted in 1996.
South Carolina law requires any person desiring to be a licensed home
inspector to file with the South Carolina Residential Builders Commission.
A home inspector must show to the satisfaction of the Commission that he
is currently certified as a home inspector by an organization recognized
by the Commission, that he has a minimum of one year of experience as a
home inspector under the supervision of a licensed inspector, and that he
has performed a minimum of fifty residential inspections.
For more information, including Rules
and Regulations, contact the
Department of Labor, Licensing and
Residential Builders Commission
(803) 896-4621 main
(803) 896-4696 for Home Inspectors
South Dakota Licensure ( Chapter
36-21C) enacted in 2000.
The South Dakota law provides for the regulation of home inspectors.
The South Dakota Real Estate Commission shall issue and renew certificates
to licensed and registered home inspectors pursuant to the provisions of
this law. No person may provide a home inspection for compensation unless
registered or licensed in the State of South Dakota. Applicants for a
license as a home inspector shall meet the following requirements; 1) Good
moral character; 2) Completion of high school or equivalency; 3)
Employment as a registered home inspector for no less than one year and
performance of not less than one hundred home inspections for
compensation; 4) Successful completion of the National Home Inspector
Examination to assess minimum competence. Applicants for registration as a
home inspector shall meet the following requirements; 1) Good moral
character; 2) Completion of high school or equivalency; 3) Successful
completion of an approved course of study; 4) Successful completion of
For more information, contact the Real
Estate Commission at (605) 773-3600 phone or (605) 773-4356 fax.
Tennessee Licensure ( 2005
Public Act Chapter 65 enacted in 2006)
Any person who applies for licensure as a home inspector must submit an
application on a form as prescribed by the commissioner. The application
shall be accompanied by the fee specified in Section 4. Applicants shall
furnish evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant: 1)
is at least 18 years old, 2) has graduated from high school or earned a
general education development certificate, 3) has not been convicted of a
crime that has a direct bearing on the applicant's ability to perform
competently and fully as a licensed inspector, 4) is not the subject of a
disciplinary or enforcement action by another state or a local
jurisdiction in connection with the performance of home inspections or the
licensing or certification of home inspectors, 5) has successfully
completed 90 hours of a commissioner-approved training program or course
of study involving the performance of home inspections and the preparation
of home inspection reports, 6) has passed a commissioner-approved
competency examination administered by the state or an entity selected by
the state, and 7) has obtained a certificate of insurance in an amount
required by the commissioner for general liability as well as errors and
omission to cover all activities contemplated under this chapter.
During the first 180 days after the effective date of this act (July 1,
2006), the commissioner may issue a license to an applicant who meets the
requirements stipulated in the law if the applicant furnishes evidence
satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant: 1) has been
principally engaged in the performance of home inspections in this state
for at least two years, and 2) has complete at least 150 home inspections
for compensation in the applicant's career.
For more information contact the Home
Inspector Licensing Program at 615-253-1743 or fax 615-741-6470 or
Texas Licensure ( Title
113A, Article 6573a, Section 23) enacted in 1991.
The Texas licensure law, the Real Estate License Act, provides for the
examination of home inspectors and established continuing education
requirements. These and other requirements are contained in the Texas
Administrative Code, Subchapter R, Rules. The law a lso requires home
inspector applicants to work as apprentice inspectors under the
supervision of a professional licensed home inspector. If an applicant is
unable to obtain an apprenticeship, educational course work and an
examination can be substituted. Home inspectors are regulated by the Texas
Real Estate Licensing Board.
For more information, contact the Texas
Real Estate Commission at
(512) 459-6544 phone or (512) 465-3910 fax.
Virginia Certification (Virginia
Certified Home Inspectors Regulations) enacted in 2001.
The Virginia certification law provides a voluntary certification
program for home inspectors in the state. However, no person may hold
him/herself out as a "certified home inspector" without meeting
the certification requirement s prescribed b y the Board. The Board may
issue a certificate to practice home inspection to any applicant who has
successfully completed: 1) any educational requirements as required by the
Board, 2) any experience requirements as required by the Board, and 3)
passed the National Home Inspector Examination. The Board may issue a
certificate to practice as a certified home inspector to any applicant who
is a member of a national or state professional home inspector association
approved by the Board, provided that the requirements for the class of
membership in such association are equal to or exceed the requirements
established by the Board for all applicants. Because the law was enacted
recently, the language does not include specific requirements. The Board
is undoubtedly working on creating those rules and requirements, in
preparation for the law's July 1, 2003 effective date.
For more information, contact the Virginia
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors at (804) 367-8500.
Washington Licensure (
SB 6606) enacted in 2008.
Requires the licensure of home inspectors and establishes various
qualifications for licensure. Licenses will be issued beginning July 1,
2009. Beginning Septembers 1, 2009, inspectors will be required to have a
license to inspect. Anyone who can prove he has worked as a home inspector
for at least two years and has conducted at least 100 home inspections may
apply to the board before September 1, 2009 for licensure without meeting
the instruction and training requirements.
The bill creates the Home Inspector Advisory Licensing Board,
consisting of seven members, six who must be active inspectors and one who
must be currently teaching in a home inspector education program.
The Director of the Department of Licensing has the authority to adopt
rules; administer licensing exams and adopt exams prepared by other
entities and adopt standards of professional conduct, practice and ethics.
The director has the authority to suspend licenses.
To obtain a license, an applicant must meet the following requirements:
- Proof of a minimum of 120 hours of classroom instruction approved by
- Proof of up to 40 hours of field training supervised by a licensed
- Passage of the psychometrically valid, reliable and legally
defensible written exam required by the board
The term of a home inspector’s license shall be two years. License
renewal would be contingent upon the home inspector’s successful
completion of at least 24 hours of continuing education every two years.
Any person licensed under this chapter who is not also licensed as a
pest inspector under chapter 15.58 RCW shall only refer in his report to
rot or conducive conditions for WDOs and shall refer the identification of
damage by WDO to a licensed structural pest inspector.
The bill outlines unprofessional conduct and lays out the hearing and
investigation process into complaints. The bill requires licensed home
inspectors to carry errors and omission, and general liability insurance.
It also prohibits home inspectors from soliciting repair work on items
listed in the inspection report until after the sale of the house is
For more information contact the Washington
State Department of Licensing at (360) 664-8885.
West Virginia Certification (Title
87-05) enacted in 2006.
West Virginia law, "Certification of Home Inspectors,"
establishes procedures to be followed to assure that consumers of home
inspection services can rely on the competence of inspectors, as
determined by educational and experience requirements and testing. As an
initial requirement and qualification for certification as a home
inspector, every applicant: 1) shall have passed the National Home
Inspector Examination; 2) shall either present proof of having conducted
business as an inspector for three years prior to August 1, 2006, or proof
of satisfactory completion of at least 80 hours of instruction; 3) must
have successfully completed high school or its equivalent; and 4) shall
present proof of, and shall maintain, general liability insurance in the
amount of not less than $250,000.00.
For more information, contact the West
Virginia Association of Home Inspectors
Wisconsin Certification ( Chapter
440.97 ) enacted in 1998.
Under Wisconsin's law, home inspectors must register with the State and
pass an examination approved by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing. The law instructs the Department to consider the use of an
examination modeled after the National Home Inspector Examination. The law
also requires that a home inspector perform a "reasonably competent
and diligent" inspection; however, the inspection is not required to
be technically exhaustive. Home inspectors are prohibited from limiting
their liability from damages resulting in a failure to conduct a
"reasonably competent and diligent" inspection. Also, inspectors
are prohibited from performing repairs, maintenance, or improvements to a
structure that they have inspected within the last two years.
For more information, contact the Department
of Regulation and Licensing at (608) 266-2112 phone or (608) 267-0644
fax or go directly to Home